To Remove or Not to Remove?

That is the question….

So today I made an appointment with my doctor. I had made the appointment since I have been having some pain that indicates that my hemorrhagic ovarian cyst(s) are once again in play. Since the pain isn’t extreme, and we already likely know it is cyst related and not anything wrong with my IUD, the office didn’t send me for ultrasound this time but just recommended I come in to the office.

In between my initial phone call and my scheduled visit I did a lot of thinking, and reading, and talking with my husband, and more thinking. In this time I made a decision to ask my doctor about removing my IUD. I have had the Mirena for about 4 years now and started having issues with ovarian cysts about a year ago. I have also struggled with mood disorder (anxiety & depression), weight issues and low sex drive for as long as I can remember. There isn’t any direct literature stating that Mirena (and similar) hormone IUDS cause ovarian cysts, but between the people in my circle of friends and the forums on the internet I feel like they could be connected… or else it’s just a very large coincidence. In fact a good friend of mine with a hormonal IUD has been in the hospital for the last 4 days due to an abscessed ovarian cyst. If they aren’t connected, maybe there’s another reason so many women have these little (or big) buggers and the IUD is such a popular form of birth control that it is just a coincidence.

Initially it was my hope that by removing the IUD the cysts may reduce or disappear completely. After reading through some forums and blogs I also got excited that maybe going totally hormone free could help with my other issues as well. I have been on some form of hormonal birth control for the last 15 years and I don’t really know what me and my life would be like without that. I started to get really excited!!!

Unfortunately I could not stop reading things on the internet and then came across something called the “Mirena Crash”. For every forum you read about the benefits of removing your Mirena you can find one for the reasons to keep it. After reading a few of these I started freaking out a bit and questioning my decision. Would I bleed like a stuck pig maybe for weeks on end? Would the lack of hormone give me adult acne? Would I plunge into a depressive state? Omg Omg Omg.

Stay tuned for future posts! If you scroll to the bottom of the page the “NEXT” post in the series will be displayed. There is also a calendar posted highlighting days I have created a new post and should be easy to follow in chronological order if that works better for you 🙂

post

Author: mirenafreelife

Just a Canadian woman trying to live the best life I can!

1 thought on “To Remove or Not to Remove?”

Leave a Reply

